Short: Was your email phished?

committed to database on October 6, 2009 at 1:56 pm Eastern Standard Time 13 comments digg this

In response to news about a large amount of harvested emails being spread around the Internet, I created a site to do a quick lookup against a list of known-leaked addresses. Despite what Neowin’s ignorant audience claims, it’s not fake nor a site to harvest email addresses.

Hopefully this post will clarify the site’s intentions and purpose.

  1. Chris October 6, 2009 at 3:37 pm

    neowin is bias.

    but yes I was. not sure if it was part of this, but I do know some little 16 year old kids had something to do with it.

  2. Doug October 6, 2009 at 4:06 pm

    lol @ neowin comment.
    neowin is FULL of kids.

  3. Bob October 6, 2009 at 4:38 pm

    Thanks for taking the time to do that.

  4. Singh400 October 6, 2009 at 4:42 pm

    Thanks for confirming :p

  5. dapade October 6, 2009 at 5:48 pm

    clever – the site may be genuine but now all it takes someone to hack your server and grab copy of your httpd log file and write another LIKE query to extract all addresses from GET parameters logged in the log file…

  6. Rafael October 6, 2009 at 5:49 pm

    You’re assuming I didn’t turn that off.

  7. dapade October 6, 2009 at 5:52 pm

    or potential reverse proxy in between or other loggers … but wait those log everything anyways so moot point. maybe im too paranoid about something which is public already..,

  8. Dan October 7, 2009 at 12:46 pm

    But he can’t get hacked…

    C:\Documents and Settings\The MAZZTer>wget –spider -S http://www.wasiphished.com/
    [...]
    Server: Apache/2.2.11 (Unix) [...]

    He runs LINUX!* ** http://xkcd.com/272/

    (* – And Apache, too!)

    (** – Yes I know Linux is technically hackable if someone really really wanted to but don’t ruin my funny.)

  9. J October 7, 2009 at 6:11 pm

    A great service, but how about a one line brief about what it actually does on the page. Also, there needs to be feedback if you put only your username in as input that you need your full email address.

  10. rm20010 October 7, 2009 at 7:50 pm

    OpenDNS currently flags that domain as a phishing site.

  11. Wanda Partridge November 5, 2009 at 3:28 pm

    I know mine was hacked had the nerve to send me a phishing scam for 2000 bucks and claim I was stranded in UK….Phone has been ringing off the wall from friends that thaought I was in trouble., I may be just a little old lady but it infuriates me for someone to totaally tack my entire account, and under the preteense of being from microsoft